The Return of an Australian Classic

When NWA Australia Pro changed its professional affiliation from NWA Pro Wrestling to ZERO1 Wrestling and re-named its self ZERO1 Australia, it was believed that the NWA National Australia Championship would be lost.  The last champion before the title was declared vacant while  Robby Heart was still the champion.  Robby was a 2 time champion when he had avenged his loss to another 2 time Champion Hartley Jackson on June 25th 2011, in Clovelly Park.  Former Champions include Jayson Cooper, and Mikey Nichols.

The title had been nearly inactive for a year… however NWA Warzone representative Benny English announced that in conjunction with PCW, will crown a new NWA Australia National Champion.  The Match will take place on September 15th at PCW’s Carnage 2012.

Daniel Swagger will face off against Wayne “The Maniac” Mattei to determine the New Champion.  Daniel Swagger is known from coming up just a little short of winning the NWA Worlds Heavyweight Championship from Adam Pearce, when Pearce traveled to Australia.

The Championship was created originally to showcase the Top Australian talent versus top talent from the United States. As part of the NWA Pro Tour of Australia in November of 2003, an Eight Man Tournament was created to crown this new champion.  The bracket for the NWA Australian Championship Tournament was Rocky Romero vs. Damian Slater, Jimmy Payne vs. Mikey Nichols, Davis Storm vs. Bobby Marshal, and Claudio Castagnoli vs. Spike Steel.  Nichols would defeated Marshal in the tournament finals.  The title would split time in Explosive Pro Wrestling in Perth and NWA Pro Wrestling Australia in Adelaide until become exclusive to the NWA Pro Wrestling group.


Leave a Reply