The NWA Reintroduces the World TV Championship

One of the top questions asked of David Lagana, Billy Corgan, and really anyone associated with the National Wrestling Alliance is always when will a certain title be re-established. The question was asked at the Crockett Cup 2019 VIP Meet and Greet. During the course of tonight’s Into the Fire Pay Per View, Stu Bennet announced not only the NWA’s return to Pay Per View January 24th, but also the reintroduction of the NWA World Television Championship.

The official lineage is split. Joe Galli mentioned the first champion was Austin Idol being the TV Champion in 1980. It’s history goes back to That refers to the NWA National TV Championship, not the World Championship. 1969 and Joe Scarpa. That championship was held by the likes of Nick Bockwinkel, Assassin #2, Tony Atlas, Abdullah the Butcher, Thunderbolt Paterson, Bob Armstrong, Ole Anderson, Blackjack Lanza, Ernie Ladd, Stan Hansen, Idol, Stevens, Tommy Rich, Terry Taylor, Terry Funk, Bobby Eaton, The Iron Sheik, Ron Garvin, Jake Roberts, to name a few of the highlights.

The NWA World Television Championship was established in 1974 when Danny Miller of North Carolina became the first champion. Former champions are; Ivan Koloff, Paul Jones, Ric Flair, Angelos Mosca, Mr Wrestling, Greg Valentine, Rick Steamboat, Baron Von Raschke, Johnny Weaver, Ron Bass, Jimmy Valiant, Dick Slater, Mike Rutundo, Roddy Piper, The Great Kabuki, Mark Youngblood, Tully Blanchard, Dusty Rhodes, Arn Anderson, Nikita Koloff, Ric Steiner, Sting, The Great Muta, and the title was sealed with Z-Man Tom Zenke as the last champion.

No word on which lineage will be recognized officially, but the title looks like it might be crowned at the next pay per view, joining an already crowded championship window. Worlds Heavyweight Championship, National Championship, Television Championship, Woman’s Championship and the Tag Team Champions.

Leave a Reply