NWA will re-introduce the Crockett Cup

At the NWA 70th Anniversary Show, the NWA welcomed the Crockett Family Foundation to announce the return of the Tag Team Tournament that was made famous by Jim Crockett Promotions.

The Crockett Cup was the nickname given to the Jim Crockett Sr. Memorial Cup Tag Team Tournament. The short lived tag team tournament ran from 1986 through 1988.  The Road Warriors (Animal and Hawk) were the first to win the tournament by beating the Midnight Express in 1986.  In 87 the Super Powers (Nikita Koloff and Dusty Rhodes) would win the tournament by defeating members of the 4 Horsemen Lex Luger and Tully Blanchard.  The 88 Tournament would see Lex Luger and Sting defeating members of the Horsemen Arn Anderson and Tully Blanchard.  Although at that point it wasn’t affiliated with the NWA, the Crockett Foundation with Classic Pro Wrestling held a Tag Team Tournament in Virginia which was won by the Geordie Bulldogs (Mark and Sean Denny).

Location and date have yet to be announced, however the first entrants into the 2019 Crockett Cup Tag Team Tournament are the War Kings.  The tag team comprised of former NWA Worlds Heavyweight Champion Jax Dane and Crimson, who are managed by Road Warrior Animal.

Leave a Reply